Marie Christmas

I’d hoped that today might have been a time for me to start the Christmas cards/ letter. It was not to be. A flurry of emails about the sale of our mother’s flat dominated the morning. As that settled down, emails came in about my aunt’s estate.

Once deliveries for the solar panels fitting (due tomorrow) had arrived I headed out in the wild weather to hand in the very kind donations made at my aunt’s funeral. She’d been a long time supporter of Marie Curie ( her father died of cancer when she was aged 14) and the collection was destined for them.

This tree was in the waiting area and ( along with the cushion in the background) provided some brightness on a wet and windy day.

Back to more paperwork then off to the Kirk Session where we continued the preparations for the vacancy for the Minister’s post.

That is probably not a phrase politicians wish to hear 48 hours before an election. I confess that for almost the first time in my life I have disengaged from the political debates ahead of the election. I know what I don’t want and the bidding war over how much is going to be spent and the unrealistic promises do nothing for me. I’d be much more interested in how a new government was going to go about changing the way people work/ relate to each other and the culture we wish to see than how much cash is going to be thrown in their direction or what structural changes are proposed.

The evening ended with a visit to the Western General then home to continue decorating the tree to the sound of Christmas music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.