LornaL

By LornaL

A love song

If thou wert wise my love, I’d honour thee
If thou wert great, I’d bend my knee in awe
But as thou art my love, my only love
I love thee dearest even yet the more
If thou wert old my love, I’d age with thee
Time should not part us nor the rolling years
If thou wert young, I would forget my age
And share with you Youth’s failings and its tears

If thou wert gone my love, and lost to me
If I’d to grope in this dark world alone
My task would be to find the way you’d passed
And with my feeble steps to follow thee
If Earth and Heaven like gulf were thrown between us
I would find thee out at last

This is almost the same poem/song dated April 16th 1930 in one of Lorna's exercise books. We blipped the original (we think) on 22nd November 2019. In its other form the poem has a different title ('If'), and contains a error with an apostrophe(!) In the version above, Lorna has mistakenly used 'you' rather than 'thou' in the eighth line. Perhaps these details help us date The Garland of Verse as a Christmas present for Lorna's mother in December 1930 when Lorna would have been 16?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.