Poppy

By Poppy

The real thing!

None of your paper hankies here, these are the real McCoy!  Last night's concert was to raise money for the Malawi Children's Music Fund, which pays for their educational needs.  This week the Blue Door charity shop is also raising money for them, so I nipped in after my dental appointment and came away with a couple of choice items, including a green silk and linen top! 

I spotted a bag of what looked like old lace but turn out to be hankies. The staff said they never got sold, and asked me if I was interested so I bought a pile of them for a pound! Some of them are very old and lovely and soft, perfect for winter colds when you have a sore nose. Others were brand new, crisply folded as they had been in their box. The nicest ones are hand embroidered or have hand made lace or tatting round the edges. The thought of them being turned into rags was too sad to risk leaving them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.