One more time - with feeling

As first responder, of the Bolt Hole, Emergency Response Team, I went across to Hoy to investigate.  A lucky blue day, between weather systems.  A tricky repair – needs about 15 new roof sheets; better still a brand new roof.  Will be debated.  I looked out the roll of felt (40 years old) and found my Stanley knife.  Measured the two holes.  Got the shot of a ladder and CMC’s brother provided the proper type of nail.  Good finger chappers – only two degrees whilst trying to hammer.  Had to saw off remainder of the gutter.  Best repair possible in the circumstances. 

Later, to celebrate, I went into the Stromness bookshop and also popped in to see Sue.  I kept expecting to meet Laura Kuennesberg, Ludovic Kennedy and Jimmy Spankie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.