Meeting in Mainz

I've been to Mainz, the capitol of my state, for a business meeting. We walked to the Christmas market to get something for lunch.
At the Weihnachtsdorf (main blip) we had a barrel (extra 1) reservation, but didn't use it because a) we were 12 and the barrel was for 8 people (never ever for 8) and b) all the sudden the weather turned out very nice and it was fun standing in the sun (and offered the barrel to some elderly people desperatly looking for a place to sit down, as the place was crowded).
Unfortunately I couldn't leave the group (would have been lost) to get a decent blip of the Dom, the St. Martin Cathedral (extra 2).
Extra 3 doesn't need an explanation, but extra 4 does: I was told in Mainz all street signs running parallel to the Rhine river are blue, the ones perpendicular to the Rhine are red. A system from 1849. I like that.

@Auslaender: I was sitting next to a colleage from the Wiesbaden chamber and we never stopped making fun because he was allowed to cross the Rhine for a meeting in Rheinland-Pfalz (all others).

19:45; 3°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.