Polling Ollie

We went to the polling station fairly early. I took an image of Ollie in her new bandana intending to post it on Twitter tagged #dogsatpollingstations.

When we returned to the Volvo dog car it had a flat rear tyre. I decided to walk home with Ollie and return with another vehicle to collect MrQ. Half way home I realised that I had left the key to the gate in the Volvo. We took a public footpath hoping to access our property that way but had to turn back as it included a stile that Ollie with her bad knee couldn't negotiate. We eventually got home via our neighbour's property. Unfortunately I couldn't go to collect MrQ as planned as I couldn't find another gate key in the house. I phoned a taxi firm to collect him but they wouldn't take on the job as they said it was too confusing owing to the key situation. I then arranged for the AA to attend and deal with the puncture, caused by a huge nail picked up in the polling station car park, and drive the Volvo and MrQ home. The Police phoned me, as did a member of the public, both offering to change the wheel. I explained that the AA were on the way. The AA man couldn't undo the wheel locking nuts. The owner of the polling station brought MrQ (and the gate key) home. AA man drove the Volvo to a local garage and I brought him back to his vehicle. Local garage man dealt with the wheel and repaired the puncture. I ordered a taxi to go and collect the Volvo. I was told it would be with me in five minutes - it took nearly an hour. I was waiting on the roadside in the rain.

In the middle of this confusion I got a call from my insurance company saying that they will not replace my damaged and poorly repaired lens. 

Nevertheless I'm hoping that all's well that ends well politically. I've made another batch of mince pies this evening and put the horrors of the day behind me. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.