The Importance Of Being Magnanimous

This morning, I read with disgust the story of how Donald Trump, in a fit of pique, attacked Greta Thurnberg for being chosen as Time Magazine's Person Of The Year. I shared the story on Facebook with the suggestion that the eight and nine year old children in my class could probably teach the President Of The United States a thing or two about magnanimity.

During the morning, I realised that I had some time to test that idea. So I showed the class a photograph of the Time Magazine cover pronouncing Greta Thurnberg the winner of Person Of The Year. I gave the class a little information to explain,to those who didn't know, who Greta Thurnberg is and the significance of the award. I then told the children that I would give them one minute to write a short message to Greta Thurnberg. One of those messages is today's blip.

Back on the carpet, I showed them Donald Trump's Tweet (without identifying the author) and asked the children what they thought of it. They were shocked and appalled by it. We talked about appropriate responses to somebody else winning something which you were hoping to win - with reference especially to Sports Day - and they all agreed that it is utterly wrong to attack someone because you are jealous of their victory.

After this discussion, I got no small pleasure, I admit, from identifying the author of the pernicious Tweet.  Let's just say, Mr. Trump should thank his lucky stars that eight and nine year old children are not eligible to vote. However, I have to say, they could probably outclass the Orange One when it comes to integrity, honesty and basic common decency.

I think the other children's messages are worth sharing too:

Good Job Greta; I hope you have a great time. Congratulations.


Dear Greta, How do you feel by winning this award? Congratulations!!


Dear Greta why do you say "How der you? from ------


Nice job Greta thunberg I am very inpressed of your jobs you had to do.


Well done, I am very Impressed by your kindness.


Well done!


Congratulation. I am very imprest. I want to stop people killing other people because of there looks.


Dear Greta, I think you are taking care of the earth From -----


Good job Greta keep on doing what you think is righ.


Dear Greta,
You have won the award this year! I wish you can win next year too! Have fun
------


Dear Greta,
Congratulations! How did you win this prize? Hope you have a great year!!


From ------


Dear Greta,
good Job!


Dear Greta,
Hi, It's nearly christmas! Beacuse of the global warming seasons are changing a bit!! Please help!


do you like your work?
do you like your school?


Dear Greta, what inspired you to save climate change? Keep up the great work!


Dear Greta,
Conglaturations for becomeing Person Of The Year.


Dear Greta
I am proud that you got the awared and I hope you carryon doing it.


Dear Greta
Congratulation Greta you are the person of the year


Dear Greta,
Congratulations you won the award

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.