Beewriter

By Beewriter

CSI: Bridgewater

We had children from a local primary school in for the day, we are hoping that they will want to join our senior department so it was a bit of a PR job. They split into two groups and worked in the DT department and with the science team. Tracey works as a mentor to a child from the school so she was there too, I went over to see her in the morning. I still felt a bit out of sorts and I have to admit that I didn't achieve as much today as I could have.

I had two groups of kindergarten after break and I read them some rowdy, funny stories...so they were nicely hyped up when I handed them back. The favourite, by far, was The Really Rude Rhino...it involved blowing a lot of raspberries which was actually quite therapeutic.

I went over to seniors to take some photos during the afternoon of the science and DT workshops. The science workshop looked great fun, they had been out to a 'crime scene' and were performing their own CSI tests. They were taking fingerprints, looking at treads on shoes, using bunsen burners and microscopes. Wearing white lab coats and sporting protective glasses and being able to play around with fire is always exciting.

I found out today I am going with some senior children to the Book Awards next week. One of the authors who will hopefully make an appearance is Frank Cottrell Boyce. When I told Sian she was beside herself because she wanted to go too. She has just worked on Millions with Prep 6 and they wrote to him just before Christmas. I will try and get a signed book for her to make up for it.

Weather permitting I'm going to Fleetwood tomorrow with the cross country team...a bit of sea air will hopefully get me back to 'normal'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.