Nothing like a warm blanket....

On December 16, 2019 trucking will forever change with the mandate of electronic logbooks.. Starting in 2017, there was a two year grace period for the industry to change. Some companies have already closed down as they couldn't run the way they did and stay profitable. As someone who have been in the industry 25 years... there needs to be give and take as it makes no sense for a driver to shut down 45 minutes from home because he / she got stuck in traffic but the computer says they must, no exception.  (there are a few like a state milk emergency our governor declared a few years ago, a once 16 hour exception if you qualify, not known adverse conditions, and..)  

The company I work for finalized the company policy for compliance and I got my copy of it this morning. Reading through the policy, I found that it appeared I would be fired for doing what was once an acceptable way to log. I called my boss and asked for clarification, she said she hated the new rules as it gives zero flexibility plus the companies contracts haven't been redone to reflect this new reality. Eventually they will but until then...

To comply with the new rules I had to start my work day 30 minutes earlier which is normally fine, but I had a long run. Although I had a few delays along the way (traffic mainly along with a brief customer delay), those lost 30 minutes meant I didn't get home last night and slept in the truck. As this wasn't my fault, I got paid extra but I can see this being a real big issue going forward.. just another challenge to overcome..

Looking to forward to a quiet Saturday  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.