malcornorton

By malcornorton

A sad day.

It was my mate Chippy's funeral today.
I had been a neighbour and then a friend of the whole family, since 1964.
He was one of a kind and a very keen biker from a teenager, right up to his final 83rd Summer.
   The 57 boxes of parts and chassis that he bought about 35 years ago, turned into 2, 1934 Morgan Super Sports, that we built, together.
 The 1959 Velocette Venom Vee-line in the Blip, was the one that he bought in the late '70s. Totally original and never messed about with.
He loved Velocettes and he and his wife rode this one to John o' Groats,
then down to Lands end and back to Shropshire, when they were in their late 50s.
    His son has now inherited the bike and he asked me if I would go on my Norton with him to his Dads funeral. I'd ridden thousands of miles with Chippy over the years, so it was an honour to make his last trip with him, on two wheels.
    A bit wet and chilly, first thing, but I'm so pleased that I did it !

                 So long, old mate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.