Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Weather

What's to be said? Today has become steadily more frightful than it was when I took this photo of our flooded border some time this morning. I don't know how that rose bush has survived all those years with the annual inundation, though I think it's had more of these in recent times. It's now dark, which means that at least I can't see how frightful it is, but half an hour ago I wanted to do my usual slatternly thing of chucking the coffee grounds onto the border and could barely open the door. I persevered; there was a dull splash as they landed in this water feature ...

Elsewhere I was trying to source wallpaper that could cover the damp wall that is to be removed from our bedroom. Originally we put up slightly patterned lining paper and then painted it; it makes for a much longer job and we can't find similar paper and we're not sure of the paint colour (which will all still be there on the other three walls). So I came up with the idea that we could find a similarly-hued wallpaper with minimal pattern (there's a big picture on that wall and I don't want to detract from it).

All I can say is that wallpaper fashions have clearly changed. And so much vinyl! (With "minimal emissions". I don't want any emissions from my bedroom wallpaper, thank you very much). I think I'm doomed. My colour (sort of lilac) isn't exactly popular either. 

So to end this rant, a question: do we decorate our houses according to fashion or to personal taste? And is the latter shaped by the former? Is it like garments? (You end up wearing what you thought looked good on you when you were of A Certain Age). I think of the highly pictorial patterned walls of the 50s, when we moved to a new house and my parents went mad with the wallpaper after post-war years of stippled paintwork. What do my fellow-blippers have on their walls?

And how, pray, did I get here from that wet photo?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.