Adam's Images

By ajt

Wooden soldiers

Busy day today.

I started with totalling up my income and tax for the year. I've paid into two systems and I'm currently trying to get HMRC to give back what they owe me now I'm paying into the French system. The misalignment of the dates and tax years doesn't help, but they owe me enough money to make it worth doing...

I posted some xmas cards and got some stamps before La Poste closed at lunch time. On the way there I nearly bumped into two people and cause a car accident. People say the British are polite and that the French are rude, but I'd say that the people here are just as likely to say pardon when it's not their fault as the British are for saying sorry. The car accident was most strange, I was waiting for the pedestrian light to turn green, but the car crossing the junction stopped for me, which was polite but not very clever as the bus behind it wasn't expecting it to stop in the middle of the junction!

After lunch we went to the repair cafe to meet one of the IT repairers. I think I've volunteered to join the local IT group on Wednesday and show them the latest WireGuard VPN technology on Debian. Thankfully their English is a lot better than my French. It will be good to get me out of my English speaking comfort zone and try to practice my French with real but tame people.

We then did a bit of shopping for nuts and fish, our local Carrefour is not very good for tinned fish. And from there we walked along the sea front into Intra-Muros, to see the Xmas market and then back home. We even managed to find a very useful diary in one shop and some interesting (but expensive) books on local history.

Blips are:

Main - close up of the sea defences

Extras: Fort National, Church at Rocabey, more sea defences, and then the Xmas lights in the Intra-Muros and the top of St-Servan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.