Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

The Ice Swords of Damocles.

These hang down from the mossy shelves on the cliffs going up towards Pont de Nant and I thought they might be forming today. We're in a very cold spell now, and it is snowing hard at this very moment. The walk up to Pont de Nant was spectacular, with the easy 2 km road from Les Plans covered in deep snow, yet firm enough to walk on. The mixed forest on either side, was bowing down with heavily laden snow covered branches. I shall definitely go there again soon.



The waterproofness of my new camera was certainly tested today, I've never used a tripod before and got into a terrible muddle trying to set up in the snow! I thought I'd put this little bird on top of a tree just letting the snow pour down onto him, in blipfolio for those ornithologists amongst you who could maybe identify him. Looking at the size of his beak I think he's a young woodpecker of some sort but the photograph is not very good. I'm just curious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.