Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Sunrise Surprise

I stayed at Medara Canyon on Saturday night.  The inn keepers have a series of bird feeders set up next to the gift shop so I decided to go down just around sunrise to see what was there.  There were some jays, cardinals, squirrels, and a couple of other critters.  

What I wasn't expecting, was to see a Coati!   This little guy went to one of the hummingbird feeders, jumped on a stump,  held it to its mouth and then drained it.  After his drink, he walked around a bit eating bits of bird food that had fallen out of the feeders.  When he was full,  he walked toward me sniffing as he approached.  I guess he smelled a bag of peanuts that I had in my pocket.  He got about 3 feet from me and I "accidentally" dropped some of the peanuts.  After gobbling them up, he turned and went the opposite direction.  An awesome experience for sure!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.