wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Travel days

What was going to be a lovely day spent cruising across Germany at a gentle 200km/h in a high speed train, turned into a bit of a trial with multiple delays, route changes, and many other moments that detracted somewhat from the enjoyment.

In the spirit of finding fun moments on every day while holidaying though, I got to see a lot of Germans shaking their heads about Deutsche Bahn and it gave me some excellent discussion points to make the most of being surrounded by German speakers. And I can add another "are you from the Netherlands?" to the tally of anything but Australian that people think my German speaking accent is.

But I have now arrived in Amsterdam, found my hotel, eaten a very large bowl of ramen from just around the corner (and taken literally the only photo of the day), and settled down to an evening of Rosehaven before an early night.

I have a few days here and am looking forward to a few specifics - being a history nerd I want to see if I can find some starting points for some of my Dutch family history. Plus of course some museums, markets, and long wanders along canals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.