Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Whoosh!

After being inside and having little energy for several days, I was determined to get out for some fresh air.  It felt good to walk around aimlessly through the woods and meadows....seeing what I could see.  I chatted with another  photographer who showed me photos of a "coy-wolf" he saw in this area a couple of days ago.  What a handsome brute it was!  Maybe I will get lucky and see one this winter. I certainly see enough 'evidence' of them around...

It was very quiet in the woods, which usually means that a predator is around.  The crows were disturbed and were making a ruckus as well (another good indicator).  I stopped by to see Little Red who was making a commotion and took a few photos of him.  A dark blur went whoosh between Little Red and I, sending Little Red into the tree and me pivoting to see what it was!

Luckily for me, it landed in a tree (and had not caught anything!).  At first glance, I thought it was a Merlin as it was smaller than a Cooper's.  Now, after seeing it better, I think it is an immature Sharp-shinned Hawk.  Anyone???  If so, this is the second unusual sighting of a raptor within a week here!  If it is a Sharp-shinned, it is a first for me (birding with my father eons ago, does not count...)!

Here we go for the homestretch into the holidays....positive thoughts for a peaceful week ahead  :))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.