stujphoto

By stujphoto

Curiosity got the better of me....

Coming out from the dentiists in Haddington I could not help noticing the imposing memorial on the other side of the street. I have seen it many times previously as it is such a significant Haddington landmark and wondered who it might be. However, on this occasion I decided to check it out more closely. It is a statue of George Hay, VIIIth Marquis of Tweedale who was Lord Lieutenant of  or Haddingtonshire as it was then known  for a period of over fifty years -1823-1876 when he died. He was a military man serving on the Peninsular War and many subsequent conflicts and served as Governor of Madras and Commander-in Chief of the Madras Army. I guess it was  for his lengthy services to the county that his memorial was erected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.