Life thru a looking glass

By DebbieB

Consideration.

So, a college friend of mine recently joined blip and he has literally posted 3 or 4 images. Yesterday whilst I was checking out his work I noticed the first comment was quite blunt and negative. In fact I'd go as far as to say it was pretty rude.
I was quite taken aback by this, since in nearly a year of blipping I've never come across it. My friend had added a texture to his image which a certain blipper obviously didn't approve of.
I'd like to think I have quite an eclectic taste/skill set in photography. I submit a bit of everything, but my true passion is the fine art stuff. It's a way to express myself & it's my art which I shouldn't need to explain (although I would if I were asked)
Now don't get me wrong, I know we all have different tastes, god knows the world would be boring if we didn't, and those of you who know me, know I'm quite partial to a texture here or there myself & I completely understand some people don't get my fine art work (my husband included!!) but come on, there's no need for rudeness!
I know if you're putting your work out there then you're opening yourself up to criticism - but constructive surely? 'How about it in mono', 'I would have liked to have seen it without the texture' that sort of thing etc...
I very nearly commented on the blipper in particular's submission for yesterday but I was told off by the hubby for always trying to fight other people's battles - so I'm opinionated I can't help it :(
Anyway here is my blip in reaction to yesterday in all it's fine art glory, texture added and everything!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.