Words

I love this artwork but found this quotation about it and it made me think of how easy it is to make absolute statements.
"Historically, the area at the steps of Belfast's Custom House were called the Speaker’s Corner as it was the locus for many boisterous orators. Perhaps the most "infamous' was a man called Jim Larkin. In 1907, his rally cries to organize dock hands escalated into angry disputes between Protestant and Catholic workers followed by strikes and lockouts."
This observation is in my view both flawed and simplistic. We need to take care when we pass comments. (or post incomplete texts!)
Our words can both bless and curse... Build and destroy.
This is a great reflection....
"Did I offer peace today? Did I bring a smile to someone's face? Did I say words of healing? Did I let go of my anger and resentment? Did I forgive? Did I love? These are the real questions. I must trust that the little bit of love that I sow now will bear many fruits, here in this world and the life to come."
Henri Nouwen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.