Betsy's Harry Blanky

Am so excited to finally finish this blanket!

It was a Christmas present for Betsy, and though I finished all the squares I sewed them all together on Christmas Eve and so never got to finishing it properly. Today I put quilting batting between it and a black brushed cotton backing and sewed over all the joins. The squares puffed up like a proper quilt! I used zigzag stitch and was really surprised that it sewed so easily over the knitting. I thought I might have to put that tear off stabiliser over it - but it worked just fine!

I hand sewed the mitres (which are a bit messy) and when I was finished, I spent a long time admiring it!

You can't see in this picture, but the bottom middle square has Betsy's name and the date on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.