Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2019 Thursday — Ophthalmology

Today was my regular ophthalmology appointment that I have quarterly. It was really three appointments: one to check my pressures; one to check my peripheral vision, and then the real appointment with the doctor. I have a family history of glaucoma.

My doctor, Dr. Bainer, explained that my pressures are in the normal range (10-21); my left eye is 18 and right is 16, but he thinks those pressures are not good for me, so he prescribed Latanoprost – one drop in each eye daily before bedtime.

(This is back-blipped): The result is wonderful! After five nights of using the Latanoprost I have not had a headache when I wake-up for the past four mornings. So I am hoping that possibly the solution to the headaches has been found.

Dr. Bainer did say that he thought I am in the very early stages of glaucoma. That I do not have cataracts, but I will when I am older, and he said I absolutely do not have macular degeneration, (and I don’t think I have a family history of that). My mom died at 57 and my dad was 66, so some of my family medical history is not known because they did not live to be old. My paternal grandmother, Grammie Teele, lived to be 91 and was still driving until three months before her death. I’m sure my mom’s parents lived into their eighties, but they were in Georgia, so I don’t have their medical history.

Rosie (& Mr.Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.