CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The old garage petrol pumps in Uley

I went to the dentist in Dursley for a small filling which my dentist spotted a few weeks ago at my regular check-up. I like going there as it is a thirty minute drive and often gives me time to enjoy the varied landscapes between home and the Severn Vale. Today it was misty and the light was rather poor when I set off at lunchtime.

I did some supermarket wine shopping using a recommendation list from a wine writer of a national paper. Then as I left the town I decided on the spur of the moment to go the longer route home via Uley, a delightful Cotswold village nestling in a combe at the base of the escarpment, and underneath the ancient Uley Iron Age encampment.

The mist was gradually clearing and sunlight was just about breaking through to brighten the scene. I parked in the main street of Uley outside the old post office set in a stone building. The main reason I parked there was because It was opposite to these very old petrol pumps with their elaborate swinging arms, a piece of 20th century technology which I remember from my childhood in the home counties in the 1950s.

It was also meaningful to me as a favourite blipper of mine, who sadly no longer posts, once saw my blip of a wide view of this same scene in 2011, and exclaimed in a a comment 'that's my mother crossing the road!'. S. grew up in this village before adulthood took her far away and a new family brought a different life. I miss S.'s presence here as she was so encouraging of my first stabs at blipping, and she was a terrific photographer. We eventually met up a couple of times for Blipmeets, when she returned to the area to visit her mother, but I've lost contact now. Do say hello again S. if by chance you happen to pop by! You'll know who you are. :-))

I found this old picture of Bruton's garage and village shop from the 1960s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.