The Fairies have arrived

This is one of four Christmas Fairies made for me some years ago now by Blipper Peachez.  They are wearing very well and bring joy to my heart every time I get them out to put on the Christmas Tree.  We are a bit late getting things out this year but it happened today, along with the normal fairy lights not working!

It all looks a bit more festive now anyway.  I can't help but think of Mom when I look at the fairy lights because one of the things dementia champions talk about when they do presentations is how dementia affects the brain - like little bits of the brain stop working or flicker or dim, just like thousands of Christmas fairy lights on a tree.  And when one stops working, that can be compared to a part of the brain not working because of the dementia.  I thought of Mom as I put two sets of fairy lights in the bin as they were not working at all.  That is what happens when a person with dementia dies.  Alll the fairy lights have gone out.

But the fairies are still beautiful...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.