Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Starting to build a warehouse

Started a few days ago to paint and build a small warehouse for the Sn3 layout.  It is Wild West's warehouse all wooden model kit. The directions described a painting scheme that I had not ever used so why not!  It involves first staining the wood walls and window pieces with a fairly heavy Indian ink/91% alcohol mix (1 pint AL to 3 TSPs of ink).  Once that is dry, I used a piece of green scrubbing pad dipped in paint and rubbed most of it off.  Then applied it to the walls is a light scrubbing motion.  I really like the outcome - sort of pre-weathered already.  Easy to moderate how much paint goes on.   The windows for the same treatment but with a brown paint as the second layer.  I will blip again when it is all together.

I put one window in just to see if I liked the window paint treatment.  I think it will work fine.  Most wood kits I do get a base spray of solvent based paint (rattle can) and then airbrushed later with water based paint. This prevents any wrapping.  A straight application of water based paint on raw wood will give you wavy wood.

This finishes the "left" side of the layout with buildings and scenery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.