Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Calm, calm ...

Could be an injunction to self after a morning spent draping my bedroom in plastic sheeting, but in fact it's a comment on today's weather after the grim unpleasantness of yesterday. The photo is of Dunoon's West Bay, looking north towards the pier where I staggered off the boat yesterday; the sky is increasingly cloudless and the water calm and lapping gently on the beach. After the exercise with the plastic sheeting and the consequent ill-temper, I took myself for a solitary walk round the bay and up the back, ending up with five quiet minutes in our wee church and a cheerful conversation with a friend I met by chance. 

Now it's freezing outside (literally) and I've just come in from our final choir practice before the carol service on Sunday. I think most of us look forward to this particular rehearsal almost more than anything else, because we hold it in the church which though deeply chilly has a wonderful acoustic and a specially wonderful acoustic when it's empty. We sang so well - I don't think we've sung better - and I was able to go down the church to listen to the new carol I wrote for this year and could hear all the words so I'm happy. 

But I have to calm down and get some sleep before Bruce the builder (really) turns up at the crack of daylight ... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.