A taste of things to come

A good trip on the motorbike today, some bits were better than others!
At 1400 I set off from Gloucester to Southmead Hospital (38 miles) to get something checked out. It was a hangover from the kidney removal 3 years ago, and wasn't unexpected, but as it obviously wasn't going away it was good to get checked out. No problem, as long as it doesn't become painful, or otherwise unbearable, it won't develop into anything nasty.

From Bristol to Carterton (68 miles plus 10 as I went off the rounabout down the M5 the wrong way!) to babysit Isabella and Harriet so that Julia could go out with her workmates for an evening.
They were just going to bed when I arrived at 17:45 so I did get a cuddle before they went down.
Isabella woke up at about 2030, settled and then made a noise again at 2100 when I was making their 'Dream Feed' bottles.
She didn't cry though until about 2130 so I gave her the bottle early but she wouldn't go back to sleep then. Because she knew it was me she just wanted to play and laugh at me!
Anyway, Julia came back at 2145 and got her settled. I set off to come home and the blip is a still from the video on my helmet. Unfortunately the battery died before I hit the freezing fog, I was hoping for a more dramatic photograph!
It's the road from Carterton to Burford and there was a patch of mist in a dip.

This was the journey from Carterton back home to Gloucester (42 Miles as I went back through Cheltenham). Reason I went via Cheltenam and not over the hills to Gloucester was that all the way from Burford to the Gloucester turn off, about 25 miles of the journey, I was riding in thick freezing fog. Had to keep wiping the visor with my glove and at times visibility was only around 25 yards. I was amazed how many people were driving with main beam headlights, this almost blinds you with the light reflecting back off the fog. My speed at times was around 30 mph.
There was very little mist coming via Cheltenham and when I pulled up at home, at 2330, the cars were covered in ice. My hands were very cold but the rest of me was fine, good clothing makes riding in such weather not a problem at all.
I do miss my heated handlebar grips though!!!!

The whole journey was 158 miles, and my petrol light is on so I'll fill up tomorrow and jet wash the bike as it is covered in salt off the damp roads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.