Gray Rat Snake

Mea Culpas to all of you who don't deal well with serpents. C discovered this young Gray Rat Snake (less than 30 cm) lying on a chair in our screen room. It was hidden under a small pillow, probably just trying to stay warm. "Bring your camera!" she called and I did, quickly. There was no need for speed as the little thing was cold and not moving at all. I picked her up and warmed her in my hands for a minute or so and she began to get a bit wiggly. I thought it would be best to place her in the greenhouse where the sun warms the pebble floor. She remained there for a while, then headed off to a more secret spot. Rat snakes are non poisonous reptiles, they help keep the rodent population within bounds and it was satisfying to see such a young one. Check the *extra for a full-body shot! I love serpents! Seeing and being able to hold one in my hands was just wonderful! I was 'giddy'! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.