Tangled Reflections

The less said about work the better. Only just back from the office at 10.30pm and still not finished. In respect to the weird things that have been going on, I feel like the God's are giving me some kind of message. Actually, they've been whispering this message for a while now but they were positively shouting in my ear today! I'm listening. I'm listening. Give me a break already!

Far more interesting, I hope at least, is Life of Pi. I found the film last night quite breathtakingly brilliant. It was as true to the book as it had to be. The few scenes they added succeeded in helping the cinematic telling of the story, and there was really only one that I was disappointed to see left out. The animal violence on the boat was considerably diluted and far less graphic than in the book - which was actually a great relief. In a visual sense, the whole film was extraordinarily beautiful and the 3D worked all the while to enhance the experience. I don't think I've ever seen it done better.

The book poses some very deep philosophical questions, about the very nature of truth, and the film does not shy away from these at all. It is very refreshing to see the complex narrative structure retained, leaving the audience in the cinema with the same questions as the reader of the book. For me, there is no answer to those questions, which, of course, is the whole point. Our truth is the story we tell. Pi was happy to be Hindu, Christian and Muslim all at the same time because for him all the great religions are true. Each is a story through which we define our own truth.

If you've read the book, you must see the film while it's showing at the cinema. You won't be disappointed. If you've not read the book, you must still see the film straight away but do try to read the book as well. I think that just as I loved the film straight after reading the book, the book will be enjoyed just as much after watching the film first, to flesh out the detail and add nuance to every little scene. But go soon. This one is not to be saved for the DVD!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.