Human Factors

I'd made a plan. I knew where I was going, had a very specific objective in mind.
Then, as they often do in life, circumstances changed.

But, I liked my plan, even if I knew deep down it was now the wrong plan. I stuck with it. Sure I'd started later than hoped, sure the weather was considerably worse than the forecast. Yep, I'd now got Missy with me, but.

I've written presentations on the human factors that go into causing things to go wrong. So many at play here:
Scarcity, the only day this week I could get out.
Expert zoning, I knew the day should be in my comfort zone.
Familiarity. I've done this so many days, I've done it on worse days.

It's taken a lifetime to learn to listen to the little voice. I know I knew setting off it would win, Ive taken too many knocks in the last couple of years to risk it, but it was fun to argue for a while.

Philosophy Friday Wednesday
Wisdom comes from knowing when to grit your teeth and head into the storm. True wisdom comes from accepting when to wistfully smile and walk away.

In extras: the day's good news, it's another step (pun fully intended) on the road back - microspikes were bearable. Filed down crampons next!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.