La vida de Annie

By Annie

Journey back to Toryland.

The bleak cattle shed that is the Easyjet departure “lounge” at Barcelona terminal T2C.
A long day from 9am to 7pm: flight to Barca, endless walk through terminal 1, shuttle bus to T2C for 5 hour wait for onward Sleazyjet flight to Liverpool. The facilites in T2C are some hard seats, expensive vending machines of limp sandwiches and €3 small bottles of water. I sat at an empty table in the “bar” to read, and was accosted by a pompous man who said “my children are sitting here”. I said but there’s no-one here, and the couple at the next table made a show of looking behind chairs and under tables before announcing “nope, none here either”. The man wouldn’t give up, and a small boy appeared from somewhere and glared at me. I sighed and moved to one of the 20 empty tables nearby, from where I watched the family sitting glumly silent for 5 minutes before they went to queue to board a London flight. Finally got on the Liverpool cramped cattle wagon for a hot and bumpy journey with a small child throwing up in the seat behind. The tarmac was flooded and I had to wade from the plane to the terminal, which was full of buckets to catch the rain seeping through the roof. Welcome to Blighty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.