Madeiran sunset

Oh, joy of joys! - I've seen my first ever real live bottle-nosed dolphins today. We went out on a three-hour trip on a catamaran, in the hope of spotting whales or dolphins. It was a wonderful trip and as we headed back to harbour, even though none had appeared, we all agreed it had been a wonderful experience.

Then, all of a sudden, the boat engine stopped and the helmsman announced that there were bottle-nosed dolphins close by. And then we saw them, a pair to start with, very close to the boat, and they rose out of the water in a synchronised arc, and back out of sight. It's a moment I'll never forget. All these years of loving dolphins, and I'd never seen one in the flesh before. It sent a shiver of joy down my spine. We saw them several more times, plus a juvenile nearby. I didn't catch any still photos, but I did capture them on a short movie. (Will try and put it on YouTube if I can work out how when I get back home.)

Meanwhile, here's the sunset over Funchal harbour as we returned to dry land. Another brilliant day. Sending you more warmth and sunshine, folks. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.