A Christmas only treat

There has been a lot of controversy this year about the Edinburgh Christmas market , the size of the area occupied , the financing and the Council processes.

It is certainly bigger than ever and with a seeming preponderance of bars, fast food outlets and side shows as I found when Cathleen and I spent an hour there ten days ago.

I always try to get at least one evening visit not least for this , for me at least , Christmas only treat - a German sausage ( this is a Krakauer) from one of the longest established stalls which , painted like a German house, sits right by the National Galleries in Princes St.

Having had to miss (again) my private office Christmas lunch (which was planned for last Friday long before we knew about the election) it was good to have a second and final ( for this year) brief market walk through this evening with Kirsty , my long suffering PS prior to an incredibly busy end of term tomorrow which will include the final stage of the Referendum Framework Bill .

In fact she even bought me the sausage !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.