Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Street Corner Series

NE 28th Ave at NE Broadway.

This is one of the intersections in my neighborhood, shopping, food, restaurants, etc.  In this shot is a panel above the crosswalk signal with a poetry quotation (probably best seen in large).  I was debating whether to just blip the panel and lights but decided I wanted to show it in its surroundings.  There are a couple of these panels dotted around this pocket going along NE 28th into the Sullivan's Gulch neighborhood.

The full poem:

I, Too
by Langston Hughes

I, too, sing America.

I am the darker brother.
They send me to eat in the kitchen
When company comes,
But I laugh,
And eat well,
And grow strong.

Tomorrow,
I'll be at the table
When company comes.
Nobody'll dare
Say to me,
"Eat in the kitchen,"
Then.

Besides,
They'll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed-

I, too, am America.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.