skelfs

By tfb

Experiment control room: remnant

It is, still, officially forbidden to speak of what happened here. However I have had some limited success by the usual approach of buying people drinks while trying to stay sober enough to remember the conversation myself. They are a hard-drinking group though: the old saw about 'drinking to forget' very much applies here.

As far as I can tell the truth is that no-one who survived the event in any way unaltered has a very clear understanding of what happened on that terrible day. No-one who was in the control room escaped: we can only hope they died quickly. The screaming went on for days: they think most of it was not human, but whatever infected and rapidly replaced them, trying to behave as it understood humans to behave.

The organism is dead now and has been so for many years. Or so we must hope.

Thanks to S (not, of course, their real initial) for allowing me brief access. I have been assured that the apparent signs of motion in the fronds is merely an optical illusion. The odd mossy plaque which has appeared on my arm is, I am sure, unrelated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.