Ferret

I’m so sorry. I wish I could sit with you and give you something warm, tea, spiced wine, carbohydrates, to ingest. I wish I could put a blanket around you and sit with you. If it would help I wish I could hold your hand. I wish I could listen and, if it helped, cry with you. 
—-
I met a couple in the woods today, out taking a walk with their pet ferret. Samuel was fine with the ferret but perhaps a trifle confused or jealous that he wasn’t the continuous center of attention. It was funny to have the ferret come right up to my eyes, no longer in focus, and kiss me. [Thank you admirer for hosting the challenge!] They are traveling the world while they are young and funding it with their social media account. 

It caused me to realize that I’ve changed dramatically since my accident. I think this is brilliant, that they should do this while they can, and I’m impressed with them for finding a way to pay for it. I was really too conservative before. The new me is better. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.