Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Unity Village

I needed to make a couple more charitable donations to take full advantage of the 50% match available to me as a Boeing retiree. One of my choices was an organization called HomesNow, which provides shelter for homeless people in our town. I delivered my check and was given a tour of one of their projects called Unity Village. Here's a description from their website:

Unity Village is a temporary tiny home community for the homeless in Bellingham and Whatcom County. Unity Village is located at 210 McKenzie Ave. in Fairhaven near the Post Point Wastewater Treatment Plant. HomesNOW! has built 20 tiny homes to provide a safe place for homeless people to live and keep their belongings while they look for permanent housing. Unity Village provides access to basic necessities, such as bathrooms, showers, drinking water, and garbage service.

Not mentioned above are the shared kitchen and common area. The shower truck is shown in my extra.

The homes really are tiny, but it's a lot nicer than being on the street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.