Bad news

The antibiotics given to M caused an allergic reaction.. I’ve preserved his modesty, but this is all over.
Fortunately my training from when I worked in pharma meant that when I read the patient information leaflet, and saw the rash, realised that it was potentially quite serious. So phone calls to our local GP and Addenbrookes saw us back at the hospital again. 
I drove the wrong way around a one way bit of the hospital campus, but got M to the appropriate place.
I was surprised they didn’t give him an antidote, but have told him to take antihistamine. We have to monitor the rash over the next few days, and if it doesn’t reduce I have to take him back for a steroid injection... we are both hoping that is not the case. So 6 hours later, we were on our way home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.