snailspace

By snailspace

Mist Banks on the Atlantic

We had hoped to cycle up to the Lighthouse today, in search of Tangerine Gin. I checked at Reception yesterday as I recalled the lighthouse being closed around Christmas time last year. They very kindly rang up for me and established that the site was still open and would be until Christmas.

We cycled up this morning to find it closed.

I suggested calling in at the Fort at Beliche on the way home, just for something to do. It was also closed.

A fine morning when we set off, the sea mist was swirling in within minutes of our departure. I had taken the Sony with me for the magnificent views but the views just weren't there today.

There was quite a swell on the water and just for once the lighting showed it off. When the waves don't break it can be difficult to judge the swell but somehow today's lighting made it look quite formidable out there. Worth the ride, even if we still have no gin :-)

Our limited Portuguese, in combination with Google Translate, suggests that the lighthouse site is closed on Mondays. We shall try again tomorrow.

This shot taken from the Fort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.