Chorus Cicada

This has been a wonderful day. My granddaughter is home on a short break from London, the first time we’ve seen her in five years. She is having a busy time, but today was our family’s day with her. The four of us, son, daughter and granddaughter, went up to Victoria Park above the city. It was lovely up there, sheltered from the cool easterly.

We walked tracks among the trees, with bellbirds singing their clear notes above us, had a picnic lunch at a sheltered table, and then found a small sunny clearing where we sat and talked. My granddaughter told us about her life in London, her home, her job, and her travels, with lots of phone photos to illustrate.

Later we went back to my daughter’s house for a couple of hours of family togetherness before my son and I came home. I was so tired, and happy, I could barely stay awake.

As well as the bellbirds cicadas were doing their thing. One settled briefly on the lining of my daughter’s coat, which gave too much contrast, but I was pleased to get a shot of it to compare to the cicadas I see at home. The chorus cicada has a three-pointed crown shape on its thorax, barely discernible in this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.