Who can swim here?

Back on the Sculpture Trail today for a bit of light relief.  I have a spreadsheet produced by a researcher that I am trying to complete the photography for.  Unfortunately, said researcher seems to be working from a book that is more than 20 years old so many of the sculptures have moved or no longer exist so I am having to go looking and finding nothing.  2 of the 3 I was looking for today have disappeared.  The third involved a trip to Moseley Village and a first visit ever to the beautiful, neglected building of the Public Swimming Baths.  It is still apparently in use and I think I might go back for a proper look around one day as I thought the architecture was wonderful and there appeared to be a lot of original tiling at least inside.  As you can see, this is the entrance for 2nd class men.  It appears to be no longer in use.  The sculpture I needed to find was of the Birmingham Coat of Arms, "Forward", and you can see this above the Women's entrance in extras.  Quite appropriate I thought for a building opened in 1907 when the status of women in the city probably needed to be more forward looking...

More mince pies made today!  Pastry sampled - nice and crumbly today...  I wonder how long we will wait before we eat them...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.