A Star from Cork

I found myself smiling to people I passed this morning in the manner I would adopt in places like Orkney and Shetland. The reason for my beneficence apart from the fact it was Christmas Eve was that I chose to venture to Bruntsfield for last minute food shopping rather than the centre of the city. There were no visible tourists pulling cases and the people I encountered were locals carrying shopping bags- so normal and so like the good old days.

My blip is my card and star from my Irish friend of many talents delivered this morning . It is so special to have a home made gift and card but I hadn’t realised she had quite so many cats. There won’t be many mice around their homestead!

The other good thing through the letter box was a thank you card from Maggie’s in Edinburgh telling me they had raised £415 from the hats I donated to them. That makes all the knitting worthwhile.

I have been enjoying all the carols on Classic FM this afternoon-they are a perfect interlude before I have to make my way for a meal with HL’s brother and step niece .
My own preparations for tomorrow’s meal in the Dower House are in hand and hopefully nothing will be missed out- that in itself will be a first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.