atoll

By atoll

Aberdeen Day Return

A final days work in Aberdeen today concludes my long consultancy with the Robert Gordon University started 9 months ago. A quick flight up this morning, car hire and zip to a final meeting for sign-off, and then everything done in reverse to get home in time for a swift night cap and bed.

I had hoped to take time out to photograph lovely Aberdeen in the snow today, but a 2-hour delayed flight outbound right at the start severely condensed my day at the other end. I did well just to make the meeting on time. Let's hope I didn't miss any speed cameras enroute.

So, I entered Manchester Airport in the dark this morning, and I finally emerged from my Aberdeen meeting after dusk as well. Apart from some grainy night shots overlooking the River Dee (yesterday was the start of the Salmon Fishing Season for goodness sake, so I had great blip plans in that oeuvre), all I have to show then is this Emergency Blip. It was taken through the glass of my sunrise seen over Manchester Airport, with the framing clipped to omit all the reflections of the internal lights. At least it shows my delayed plane, here further delayed whilst waiting for the fuel truck.

Postscript: Am sitting now in Departures waiting for my 19:55 flight back home with an hour still to kill. Even going to miss the Man U vs West Ham FA Cup replay on the telly, but I might catch the second half on ITV+1 if not delayed again....Am confident MrsB will let me watch it, as I come home armed with giant Toblerone from the duty-free!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.