It's The Day Before Christmas......

Today started with a cold rain and a stiff breeze.  It never really warmed up, all day.    But the weather didn't put a damper on anyone!    Every where the girls and I went on our walks, either people hailed us with warm wishes of the holiday or we wish them a wonderful holiday first.   The grocery store was very busy, with everything running smoothly.  People got their last treasures, that something special for their table, or the perfect idea to top all else off.  The checkout lines even went smoothly, with everyone smiling, waiting patiently, and greeting total strangers with smiles and good cheer.
      Later in the afternoon I got a 10 mile bike ride in to other parts of OTOW.   The smiles were every where's, accompanied by a wave or a Merry Christmas!    The atmosphere was festive, joyful and merry.  I stopped off at a few villas where I knew the inhabitants would be leaving  that night to celebrate with family, in the morning.
      Then, my own doorbell rang!  A neighbor down the street brought me a whole Christmas dinner of spiraled ham, sweet potatoes, stuffing ,desert, and glazed carrots!  It was a very kind and thoughtful thing that she did.
     I passed the kindness on to my other neighbor.....    her Christmas day dinner was canceled because the granddaughter had her tonsils out and the grandson was in from Wyoming with a fever and feeling puny.    I had made a Shepards Pie , and took half of it to her for dinner tonight and  tomorrow.  She lit up and was already heading towards the microwave when I went out the front door.
        This is truly, a wonderful time of the year.   It's been  a holiday season that brings out the best in people, and me , too!   Surprises, thinking about others, a kindness given-kindness received .    It's been  cold, but superbly warm and terrific day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.