Merry Christmas Everyone

Getting my Blip sorted as early as possible as I’m working for the charity Stand International today.

We have around 100 people coming to a Christmas lunch at a local hotel.  I’ll start picking them up and taking them there shortly.  We have a load of different ages and backgrounds all nominated for the lunch for one reason or another ranging from homeless to just people who would have been totally on their own today.   I’ve got an extra job as it turns out that 1 or 2 of the people who would love to be there are actually housebound so I’m taking the lunches to them.

And we even have 2 young Vietnamese boys.  They are brothers – possibly even twins.  No family.  They have come here under the VCRS (Vulnerable Children’s Resettlement Scheme) and I don’t think they have much, if any, English yet.  I’ve had a look at Vietnamese but I wouldn’t know where to begin as far as pronouncing any of the words is concerned.   So I’m printing off a few translations I can hand to them.  Decided not to do any of my Christmas cracker jokes as something would be lost in translation!

This evening I get to relax – off to our local Indian restaurant for a Christmas curry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.