The Miracle of Christmas

Last night there happened a miracle, or actually two. I have been fighting to get the internet box working for almost three weeks. I even called the company twice and got advice which was too much for my head to handle. So a couple of days ago I went to the shop and asked a guy to explain to me how I should plug all the wires. It was a complete mess, I asked him over and over again should I do this or this or what should i do. I left the shop utterly confused and frustrated because I didn’t get any solid answers.

I spent the Christmas Eve at my son’s family and we had a lovely time. I arrived back home about at midnight. I felt I will have a last fight with the box. I started to remove wires here and there, plug them randomly where there was a space. If someone would have seen me I’m sure he or she would have thought:”Oh, she really must know what she’s doing”.

When I went and started my computer and looked at the internet status - bloody hell, it was working!

Then the next challenge (it was about three o’clock in the morning, I took my MacBook which I haven’t managed to get functioning since at least for almost a year. The whole point of this maneuver was that my iMac broke last spring and since then i got my son’s PC (I never used Microsoft before in my life) and I had 6 outer hard drives where I had stored my pictures. The problem was that those hard drives were not compatible with the PC. 

I had promised to deliver two specific pictures to a client before the end of this year. So I thought if I manage somehow to plug the hard drive into my Mac laptop (which didn’t work) I can download the pictures and put them in Dropbox (now when I got the internet working).

So I started my laptop and just deleted stuff from it. Finally it let me open Dropbox. The next challenge was to find in which of the six outer hard drives the pictures might be.

I took one of the hard drives but I didn’t find the right plug for it. Then I just randomly grabbed another hard drive from the bottom of the drawer and plugged it into the laptop. You can’t imagine what happened! When I opened the first folder on the hard drive and the pictures that I have been looking for were there!

This was truly a miracle of Christmas!

P.S. It was about 6.30 AM when I got to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.