Poppy

By Poppy

Surprise gift!

My dear aunt and her husband (M&R) recently returned from a Rhine cruise, where they bought a couple of festive tea lights for us. These were fine glass and fragile, so my aunt carefully packed them with tissue paper.

Fast forward to Christmas day and Mike and I unwrapping the sizeable parcel of gifts from M&R. "Look, pretty tea lights!" I exclaim. "There's something wrapped up in this one!" says Mike..... "Aagh!" that was in unison!

My aunt was mortified! She explained that she always travelled with a spare denture, in case of emergency and while looking for tissue to protect the glass, had inadvertently used the piece with her plate in it!

She and R do read these blips, and I have her permission to publish this! Certainly the most unusual and surprising present this Christmas: it gave us, and the rest of our family and friends, a good laugh! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.