Cake: Aerial View

The annual festive lunch today for a group of women friends who have known each other for ages. Nearly 40 years in some cases and at least 25 in all others. Multi- generational friendships (ranging today from 70+ to 9 months) which have seen us through lots of changes, holidays and many other good times. It was Lyn and my turn to host and lunch was at my house rather than her flat which would be on the neat side for this gang. I meant to get a photo of us all but I was too busy catching up. So here's this year's 'Christmas' cake. I don't make a traditional fruit cake but there's a few token raspberries in this sponge. I've included another view as an extra. Interestingly not only was lunch vegetarian but almost entirely plant based today. Vegan shepherds's pie, roasted ratatouille and salad. But cheese. And crème fraiche in the cake. Oh - the cake itself. So 55%vegan maybe.

Everyone's away now so it's a quiet hour for me before I take a walk out in the rather miserable damp weather to get a bit of air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.