The third act....

Ashes to ashes....
When my mother was cremated her remains were divided into three scatter tubes, one for her sister, one for my brother and one for me. My auntie Jojy, mums youngest sister and her husband took their 3rd to a pub that they used to go to lunch with my mother and her partner Gerry with, it was quite soon after my mum died and felt too soon to me at the time.
I scattered my third this summer with Max and my boys down in Brighton where we used to live, some on the beach and some on the South Downs at the devils Dyke. All four of us scattered the ashes in turns and made quite a day out if it which was full of laughter and tears but mainly a happy day.
My brother has been over for Christmas so I asked if he would take his home with him, he then decided he just wanted to scatter them so he paid for an Uber down to the river at Teddington and scattered her in the Thames with me, Zebedee and Gulli present, then we went to the pub before going home again.
It was all very quick and unceremonious but feels very good that it is now done and she has been released and I’m pleased not to have them in the house anymore.

I am not well, I have been ill since Christmas Eve, we were supposed to be seeing friends today but they are also not well so none of us felt like doing it, Max went to see Chelsea play with friends so my brother, the boys and I just watch TV and it snacks.

When Max came home we watched 6 Underground on Netflix, recently I did a vocal session for the movie, I was part of an 18 piece gospel choir on one of the main songs in the film which is why we watched it, it’s a mad blockbuster involving lots of car chases and gunfights but quite entertaining, a bit like watching a video game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.