as if in nervous anticipation of the next song

As the Queen's Hall was sold out by the time I became aware of Fish being on a Clutching at Straws anniversary tour, I had to go to Glasgow. Fortunately, it coincided with a couple days' using-up-holiday, so I could trundle leisurely through in the afternoon.
It's weird when you hear something you know really well being played a tone or so lower, especially when large sections are either obscured by crowd noise or not actually voiced, when you have to try and transpose the automated auditory cortex gap-filling. Peculiarly, he was singing higher and louder on some bits of the new stuff than the bits he skipped from the old songs would have been. I skipped off before the encore got going to be sure that I wouldn't miss the train, so missed Incommunicado, but that would have been one of the most reduced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.