Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Archetype

Given that we'd barely left the house in 36 hours, 12yo, 15yo and I made a small excursion into town. We looked for 2020 calendars and 12yo spent some of her Christmas money on another Star Wars Pop! figurine.

While consuming our cinnamon pretzel bites out the back of the shopping centre I spotted this door mural a little way up Currer Street, further into Little Germany. There are a series of these by the street artist Mooney, but I've only featured his Samson before.

It wasn't until I was in front of this one that it clicked into place that it was the woman from the early Tom & Jerry cartoons, confirmed when I finally spied Jerry at ground level. I grew up with these cartoons and continue to enjoy them when I see them, but I find this a curious thing to find in a Bradford doorway, particularly given the character of Mammy Two Shoes is now generally regarded as a racist archetype. But maybe I'm reading too much into it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.